About us

Executive Members


(Acting) President: Dwayne Tattrie – (902) 488-5457

(On Leave) President: Scott Lillington –  (902) 452-2655

Secretary Treasurer: Steven Crossman

Recording Secretary: Arlo Yirka – (902) 209-1863

Unit VP: Edison Connell – (902) 877-0185

Unit VP: Scott Chetwynd – (902) 292-4833





The Following are committees of The Halifax Civic Workers’ Union:

Grievance Committees

Ways and Means Committee

Education Committee

Communication Committee

Contracting In/Out Committee

Women’s Committee

Benefits Committee

Shop Stewards Committee

What we do

Unit #1 Halifax Civic Workers

Unit #1 Halifax Civic Workers are outside Workers Employed by Halifax Regional Municipality.

There are over 300 members in this Unit which include; Labourers, Facility Maintainers, Gardeners, Utility Workers, Storepersons, Traffic Sign & Marking Technicians, Painters, Plant Operators including Arena, Rink, Pool and Engine Room Operators, Chief Plant Operators, Building Trades Persons, and Fleet Trades Persons.


Unit #6 Lifeguards Employed By The Nova Scotia Lifeguard Service


Unit #6 Lifeguards employed by the Nova Scotia Lifeguard Service.

They are responsible for lifeguard duties at 14 provincial park beaches in Nova Scotia and supervise 8 other beach sites through municipal contracts.

They have been keeping Nova Scotia’s beaches safe since 1973 and take pride in their record of “no drownings” during supervised hours.

The lifeguarding season runs from the end of June to the end of August.

Web Site Link: The Nova Scotia Lifeguard Service (NSLS)